Configuring safe trash purge

When an user delete a node ( document, folder, mail or record ) from OpenKM, it goes to user trash.  Periodically users should empty their trash to free repository space.

When the user empties the trash, the documents are permanently lost.

That means if accidentally the trash has been cleaned, the nodes only can be restored from a previous backup. Usually restoring a full database and repository backup, which is a tedious task.

Administrator can clean all application trashes with Purge trashes utility.

You can configure a place where the documents will go after being purged from trash.

If you need to recover accidentally deleted node, then will not be necessary restore the entire application from backup.

You can configure a directory in the server file system where an export of the trash to be placed, using the "repository.purgatory.home" configuration parameter. Each time before a node is definitely removed from trash, the application does an export ( like Repository export feature ) to the purgatory home folder, creating into sub folder structure "YEAR/MONTH/DAY" what can help the administrator to locate the data to be recovered. To recover the data use the Repository import feature with the Metadata option checked.

Field / PropertyTypeDescription

repository.purgatory.home

String

Set the safe trash purge destination folder.

/mnt/backup/trash

Is a good practice to backup the purgatory home folder, at least for some prudential time ( 1-2 months depending on your company policy ).